Navigation and service

Conference Materials

The authorised texts of the speeches will be published on this website as we receive them.

Opening address of the 18th International Conference on Competition
Andreas Mundt, President of the Bundeskartellamt

Speech Brigitte Zypries, Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy, Berlin

Q&A Andreas Mundt (Moderator), President of the Bundeskartellamt

Speech Margrethe Vestager, European Commissioner for Competition, Brussels

Q&A Skaidrīte Ābrama, Chairwoman of the Competition Council of Latvia, Riga

Speech Frank Appel, Chief Executive Officer, Deutsche Post AG, Bonn

Q&A Andreas Mundt (Moderator), President of the Bundeskartellamt

Panel I: Size or competition – What drives innovation and investment?

Speech Joe Kaeser, Chief Executive Officer, Siemens AG, Munich

Moderator Professor Carl Baudenbacher, President of the EFTA Court and Director of the Competence Center of European and International Law, Luxembourg/St. Gallen

Hans-Toni Junius, President, CEO C.D. Wälzholz KG, and Chairman, BDI/BDA Mittelstand Committee, Hagen/Berlin
Johannes Laitenberger, Director-General for Competition, European Commission, Brussels
Terrell McSweeny, Commissioner of the U.S. Federal Trade Commission, Washington DC

Panel II : Platforms, networks, big data – Do competition authorities get it right?

Moderator Frank Montag, Partner, Freshfileds Bruckhaus Deringer and Chairman of the Competition Lawyers’ Association, Brussels/Düsseldorf

Thomas O. Barnett, Former Assistant Attorney General at the United States Department of Justice and Partner at Covington & Burling LLP, Washington DC
Thomas Jarzombek, Member of the German Parliament, Düsseldorf
Isabelle de Silva, President of the Autorité de la concurrence, Paris
Valentin Stalf, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Number26 GmbH, Berlin

Panel III: Economic theory – ready for the digital world?

Moderator John Fingleton, Chief Executive, Fingleton Associates, London

Cristina Caffarra, Vice President, Charles River Associates, Brussels/London
Sir Peter Roth, President of the UK Competition Appeal Tribunal, London
Professor Achim Wambach, Chairman, Monopolies Commission, Bonn
Professor Wouter P.J. Wils, Hearing Officer, European Commission, Brussels, and Visiting Professor, King’s College, London

Panel IV: Modern cartel enforcement - Yesterday’s success stories – tomorrow’s failures?

Moderator John Pecman, Commissioner, Competition Bureau of Canada, Gatineau

Reiko Aoki, Commissioner of the Japan Fair Trade Commission, Tokyo
Professor Ian S. Forrester QC, Judge at the General Court of the European Union, Luxembourg
Alejandra Palacios Prieto, President of the Federal Commission for Economic Competition, Mexico City
Romina Polley, Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton, Cologne

Closing speech Andreas Mundt, President of the Bundeskartellamt