Navigation and service

IKK 2017



The International Conference on Competition has been hosted by the Bundeskartellamt every other year since the early 1980s.

The conference is one of the most renowned international events dealing with competition law issues and brings together leading personalities and competition experts from all over the world, providing a forum for them to exchange their knowledge and experience. The last conference in 2015 was attended by more than 350 participants from over 60 countries.

The 18th International Conference on Competition will take place
in Berlin from 15 - 17 March 2017.

Covering a wide range of current legal and economic issues, the 18th International Conference on Competition will pay particular focus to the profound changes to the economy brought about by increasing digitalisation, which raise new questions for competition authorities around the globe.

The conference will be opened with keynote speeches by Brigitte Zypries, Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy, Margrethe Vestager, European Commissioner for Competition, and Frank Appel, Chief Executive Officer, Deutsche Post AG.

The Opening Session will be followed by a speech given by Joe Kaeser, Chief Executive Officer, Siemens AG, who will open the first panel discussion. Dealing with the interrelation between company size, the level of competition and innovative strength, this panel will address the controversial question of whether size or competition is the key driver of innovation and investment. Can market power and deep pockets buy innovation? Do global markets call for strong global players and “national champions”? Does competition enforcement boost Europe’s growth potential?

The second panel will discuss the role of competition authorities in enforcing competition law in the digital economy. Are there convincing theories of harm for appropriate intervention? Are procedures fast and efficient enough to cope with the dynamics of fast moving markets? In case of doubt: to intervene or not to intervene? Is regulation the last resort?

The third panel will take a closer look at the application of economic theory in the context of competition law issues in digital markets. How do we measure innovation competition? How can we predict future developments in a context of rapid change? Do we have the right models to measure parameters other than price? Do we get the data to apply them? Or is a reassessment of standards of evidence inevitable?

The fourth panel discussion will deal with the long-term reliability of leniency programmes to detect modern and more sophisticated cartels. Are leniency programmes still the instrument of choice with cartels becoming more sophisticated? Do other instruments have to be strengthened to raise the potential to detect cartels? Are leniency programmes losing their attractiveness due to over-deterrence caused by multi-jurisdictional enforcement, criminalization and private damages?
A detailed conference programme is available here. The working languages of the conference will be German and English (simultaneous interpreting services will be provided).

As in previous years, the Bundeskartellamt will host a workshop in English for the representatives of young competition authorities on the day before the conference. The workshop was first held in 2013 as a new programme feature tailored to the specific needs and interests of young competition authorities. It was very well received and proved to be an excellent forum for international exchange. More than 70 participants from over 35 countries attended the first workshop to discuss matters of interest and exchange their opinions. The topics of the 2017 workshop are “Competition has no lobby – Strategies for successful advocacy with governments and other stakeholders” and “Market Studies in practice – Priorities, purpose, procedure".
The workshop programme can be found here.

The conference venue will be the Steigenberger Hotel am Kanzleramt. The venue of the workshop will be the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy in Berlin.

I am looking forward to some interesting contributions and stimulating discussions with you at the 18th International Conference on Competition in Berlin.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Mundt
President of the Bundeskartellamt

Participation in the conference is by (personal) invitation only.

Navigation und Service

IKK 2017



Das Bundeskartellamt veranstaltet seine Internationale Kartellkonferenz seit Anfang der 1980er Jahre im zweijährigen Turnus.

Die Konferenz zählt zu den weltweit renommiertesten Tagungsveranstaltungen zu Fragen des Kartellrechts und bietet Führungspersönlichkeiten und Wettbewerbsexperten aus der ganzen Welt ein Forum für den Wissens- und Erfahrungsaustausch. An der letzten Tagung im Jahr 2015 nahmen mehr als 350 Teilnehmer aus über 60 Ländern teil.

Die 18. Internationale Kartellkonferenz findet am
15. - 17. März 2017 in Berlin statt.

Inhaltlich wird sie ein weites Spektrum aktueller juristischer und ökonomischer Fragestellungen abdecken. Einen Schwerpunkt der diesjährigen Veranstaltung werden insbesondere die tiefgreifenden Veränderungen der Wirtschaft durch die zunehmende Digitalisierung bilden, die die Wettbewerbsbehörden weltweit vor neue Fragen stellen.

Zur Konferenzeröffnung werden mehrere Keynote-Reden gehalten. Es sprechen Frau Brigitte Zypries, Bundesministerin für Wirtschaft und Energie, Frau Margrethe Vestager, EU-Kommissarin für Wettbewerb, und Herr Dr. Frank Appel, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Deutsche Post AG.

Der Eröffnung folgt ein Redebeitrag von Herrn Joe Kaeser, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Siemens AG, der die erste Podiumsdiskussion einleiten wird. Diese wird sich mit dem Zusammenhang von Unternehmensgröße, Wettbewerbsintensität und Innovationskraft befassen und der kontrovers debattierten Frage nachgehen: „Größe oder Wettbewerb – was ist der stärkere Motor für Innovationen und Investitionen?“ Lässt sich Innovation mit Marktmacht und Zahlungskraft einkaufen und brauchen globale Märkte starke globale Player? Steigert die Durchsetzung des Wettbewerbsrechts im Sinne einer wirksamen Konzentrationskontrolle Europas Wachstumspotential?

Die zweite Podiumsdiskussion betrachtet die Schwierigkeiten behördlicher Eingriffe in einer schnelllebigen Internetökonomie und wirft die Frage auf, ob die bisher angewandten Schadenstheorien und Interventionen überzeugend sind. Sind unsere Verfahren schnell genug, um den Dynamiken dieser sich rasant entwickelnden Märkte gerecht zu werden? Sollte in Zweifelsfällen interveniert werden oder besser nicht? Hilft hier nur noch die Regulierung?

Die dritte Podiumsdiskussion widmet sich der Anwendung ökonomischer Theorie auf die Herausforderungen der digitalen Wirtschaft. Wie messen wir Innovationswettbewerb? Wie lassen sich künftige Entwicklungen in einem sich rasch wandelnden Umfeld vorhersagen? Können ökonomische Modelle helfen, andere Wettbewerbsparameter als den Preis in der Praxis messbar und operabel zu machen? Erhalten wir die Daten, die wir dafür bräuchten? Oder machen digitale Märkte eine Neubewertung der Beweisstandards erforderlich?

Die vierte Podiumsdiskussion beleuchtet Zukunft sowie Grenzen der bisher so erfolgreichen Kronzeugenprogramme. Sind Kronzeugenprogramme angesichts der zunehmend differenzierteren Kartellformen immer noch das Mittel der Wahl? Müssen nicht andere Instrumente gestärkt werden, um die Entdeckungswahrscheinlichkeit zu erhöhen? Führen internationale Verfahren, Kriminalisierung und Schadensersatzklagen zu einem übermäßigen Abschreckungseffekt für die Inanspruchnahme der Kronzeugenregelung?
Das detaillierte Konferenz-Programm ist hier abrufbar. Konferenzsprachen sind Deutsch und Englisch, eine Simultanübersetzung ist gewährleistet.

Erneut veranstaltet das Bundeskartellamt außerdem einen Workshop für Vertreter junger Wettbewerbsbehörden in englischer Sprache am Vortag der Konferenz. Wir haben den Workshop im Jahr 2013 eingeführt. Er ist auf die speziellen Bedürfnisse und Interessen junger Kartellbehörden zugeschnitten und hat sich als Forum des internationalen Austauschs bewährt. Die Auftaktveranstaltung zählte 70 Teilnehmer aus 25 Ländern. Themen der Veranstaltung 2017 sind “Competition has no lobby – Strategies for successful advocacy with governments and other stakeholders” sowie “Market Studies in practice – Priorities, purpose, procedure".
Das Workshop-Programm ist hier abrufbar.

Tagungsort der Internationalen Kartellkonferenz ist das neue Steigenberger Hotel am Kanzleramt. Der Workshop am Vortag wird im Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie stattfinden.

Ich freue mich auf interessante Beiträge und anregende Diskussionen mit Ihnen bei der 18. Internationalen Kartellkonferenz in Berlin.

Ihr Andreas Mundt
Präsident des Bundeskartellamtes

Die Teilnahme an der Tagung ist nur auf Einladung möglich.